International Man Booker Prize 2013

The shortlist has been announced for the biennial Man Booker International prize. Comprising of 10 finalists it includes seven works translated into English and three works which were originally written in English orginating from nine countries.

First prize is £60,000 with an additional prize of £15,00 going to a translator of a translated work.

The full list comprises U R Ananthamurthy (India), Aharon Appelfeld (Israel), Lydia Davis (USA), Intizar Husain (Pakistan), Yan Lianke (China), Marie NDiaye (France), Josip Novakovich (Canada), Marilynne Robinson (USA), Vladimir Sorokin (Russia) and Peter Stamm (Switzerland). 
The Guardian has a visual guide to the finalists.

The last winner (after various walkouts) was American author - Philip Roth.
Philip Roth

May the best book win.


Popular Posts